Open vision bar

Canton Local Hall of Distinction

Last Updated: 7/14/2021 8:23 PM

Second Hall of Distinction Class Announced

The Canton South Alumni and Friends Foundation is proud to announce the inductees of the second class of the Hall of Distinction: Jim Abbott, Barb Cush, William Hayden, Dr. Rosemary Johnson, Dr. David King, Amos and Ida McDannel.

second class of inductees

The inaugural class of Charles “Red” Ash, Sharon Lane, Louis “Lou” Mikunda and Dr. Walker, as well as members of the second class, will be celebrated at the Hall of Distinction Recognition dinner on Thursday, September 30, 2021, at a location to be announced.

Inductees in the Hall of Distinction must demonstrate an outstanding record of achievement spanning his or her professional career, distinguished service to the community, sustained activities that show an exceptionally strong commitment to the Canton Local community and the highest integrity. Honorees do not need to be alumni of Canton South High School.

More information on the inductees and the induction ceremony will be provided in the August 2021 issue of the Inside Canton Local Newsletter.

The 2019 Inaugural Hall of Distinction Class 

Red ash Charles “Red” Ash: Canton South High School teacher and coached football, basketball and baseball. During his 37-year tenure he was one of Stark County’s winningest coaches and was inducted into the Ohio Basketball Hall of Fame. After retiring from education, he was elected and served in the Ohio General Assembly. 
sharon lane First Lieutenant Sharon Lane, RN: Canton South graduate 1961. Graduated from the Aultman Hospital School of Nursing before joining the U.S. Army Nurse Corps Reserve. Only American nurse killed as a direct result of hostile fire in Vietnam. 
mikunda Louis “Lou” Mikunda: Canton South graduate 1943. Beloved CSHS Booster Club member, basketball score keeper, football equipment manager, baseball field groundskeeper, team bus driver and Kiwanis summer baseball team coach. 
walker Dr. H. R. Walker: Began his teaching career in 1953 at Canton South High School. After two years, he was appointed principal of Amos McDannel Elementary School. At the age of 30, Dr. Walker was named Superintendent. Through his insight, determination and untiring efforts, he brought community-centered and child-centered education to the district.


Links and Resources

The CLSD Hall of Distinction is designed to recognize Canton Local Alumni and other individuals who have distinguished themselves and have exemplified the education and moral values that are respected by their community and school system. 

To be considered for this honor, nominees must meet the eligibility requirements as defined by the Canton Local Schools Hall of Distinction Committee. Those selected into the Hall of Distinction will be memorialized with a permanent likeness and inscriptions at Canton South High School. Those receiving recognition are strongly encouraged to attend all recognition events. 

Application Guidelines

A. Nominations and supporting material must be in writing to the CLSD Hall of Distinction Committee. 

  1. Application packets are available at Canton Local Administration Building and online at
  2. If you are unable to pick up a packet or access online, call 330-484-8019 and one will be mailed to you. 

B. To qualify for induction in a particular year, nominations must be received by June 30. 

C. A selection committee made up of members of the CLSD Hall of Distinction Committee shall review applications and make a final decision.

D. All persons making nominations will be informed of the final selections.


Canton South Alumni and Friends Foundation
The Canton Local Schools Hall of Distinction committee is currently working to establish the Canton South Alumni and Friends Foundation, a non-profit tax-exempt charitable organization. 

The purpose of the Canton South Alumni and Friends Foundation is to promote, sponsor and encourage the pursuit of excellence for all students attending school in the Canton Local School District and to recognize Canton Local alumni and other individuals who have distinguished themselves and exemplified the education and moral values that are respected by their community and school system through the Canton South Hall of Distinction.  

The following have been appointed as officers and members of the Foundation:
President, Teresa Purses (former CLSD superintendent)
Vice President, Scott Hamilton ('80)
Treasurer, Bruce DePietro ('69)
Secretary, Mike Abbott ('89)

Voting Members:
Ray Hexamer ('79)
Don Noll ('64)
Matt Trissel ('09) (Alumni Association)

Ex-officio Members:
Superintendent Steve Milano
CSHS Principal Jeff Moore
Director of Operations Chris Noll
Lucas Murray ('07), Buckingham, Doolittle & Burroughs, LLC
Communications Specialist Karen Vrabec